First food post

This post will be the first of many posts I will make about food!

I’ve had a few odd situations lately where I’ve had food given to me that I can’t eat and I wanted to address it and see what other people think about similar situations. I also wanted to post some photos of things I’ve eaten over the last month or so, and share where these vegan friendly places are!

I find whenever people offer me food and I politely respond “no thanks, I’m vegan!”, I often get treated as if I’m offending someone or they think I’m offended. I can’t get a grasp on exactly why this happens. Why are people weirded out by veganism? THEN there’s the awkward situations that pop up when someone has made the effort to make or buy you food specifically, and they’ve still gotten it wrong. Please don’t misunderstand what I say. I always appreciate effort made! Let me give you a couple of examples.
A week or two ago I got some noodles from a restaurant called Oh Basil! right in the same plaza as the Starbucks I work at. They took about 40 minutes to come out (normally takes about 15) so they gave me some rolls as a “bonus”, they called it. I was really stoked because I love the food I’ve had from this place! I got back in to work and opened them up and it turns out they were rolls made with shrimp. *womp womp womp*… I ended up giving them away to some coworkers who did enjoy them very much, at least they didn’t go to complete waste. It’s too bad the cook didn’t put two and two together and realize that I’d made my order with no eggs and no meat, somehow still thought I’d eat shrimp. I appreciated that they gave me something extra, but completely bummed out that I didn’t get to have them.
Something else happened where someone bought food with me in mind. Yesterday was Canada Day and a bunch of us still had to work (at the shelter, some full days some half days) so the supervisor bought us all pizza. I figured there wouldn’t be any that would be safe for me to eat. That normally happens, which is easier to deal with. Anyway, turns out she bought a small just cheese pizza for me not knowing that I’m vegan, thinking I just didn’t eat meat. *womp womp womp* once again! She felt bad that there was nothing for me and I felt bad because she had to spend money on something that may not get eaten.
I just don’t like the “no it’s ok, I’m fine, it looks great though!” pleasantries, because I still want to be part of the meal, and I do feel bummed out about it.
So, what do you vegan readers think about these types of situations?

Now on to the fun stuff! Photos I’ve taken of delicious food.
These are Oh Basil Noodles, no eggs. With vegetarian rolls and peanut sauce. They came from Oh Basil! in the Elmvale Plaza, Ottawa Ontario.

This is a TLC bagel from Kettleman’s Bagels on Bank St. here in Ottawa, Ontario. Instead of swiss cheese we asked for the delicious non-dairy cream cheese, on a whole wheat bagel. The whole wheat bagel is the only vegan option, but let me tell you, it’s insanely yummy!

Here’s a vegan burrito with rice! It’s from Ahora. It’s a great little Mexican restaurant hidden on Dalhousie St., Ottawa, Ontario. We’ve been here a few times now and it’s always SO good. They have a huge assortment of salsa’s to go with you dish and there are a few other vegan options as well.
For one last photo, something I made for dinner!

This is my masterpiece from Saturday night dinner. It’s a potato salad with tons of spinach, cauliflower “wings”, and vegetarian “tips”. I definitely made too much food, but it was all so good. I used a garlic chili sauce instead of hot sauce for the cauliflower and I used a lot of fresh herbs in the potato salad.

Post below any comments or ideas or whatever you like, and stay tuned for more photos and talk about vegan food in my home town of Ottawa!

Leave a Reply

